Rolling Along

Has it really been that long since I posted a blog?!  WOW!  I’m so sorry!!! Thing have been crazy busy for me with work (and school) and I guess I’ve fallen behind.

Last time we left off, I was entering the fabulous world of “Hairstyling” – and had no clue what I was in for!  We finished Trichology B and were off to a good start, then…well, i’m not exactly sure what happened…lol.  We started on Classic Hairstyling, which includes Roller Sets, Fingerwaves, and Full Wraps.  Of the three, wraps are by far the easiest!!  Followed by Roller Sets which just make me angry, and fingerwaves which make me want to curse…lol.  not really – they just take practice and I’ve kinda gotten them down for now.

With a roller set – you roll the whole head, set it under the dryer, then do a “comb out” which means lots and lots of teasing (which is called “back combing” in the “biz” so it doesn’t sound as bad).  Roller sets last quite a while, which is good, because I’d hate to do that every day!  With a roller set, once you have rolled it, set it, and combed it out, you now have to style it.  It is of utmost importance that all of the partings are blended together with back combing to make the hair solid (think helmet head) and give the max amount of volume.  Once all of the partings have been blended, you basically smooth the outer layer in order to hide the back combing and style it.  In the back you must show movement – i chose pincurl-esque shapes in the back.  Its awful! lol –   But, I have been practicing since its a vital part of our State Board Exam.  Poor Mannekin Brad – here’s what he had to go through:

Roller Set - with style

R. Side of Brad w/ Roller Set

L. Side Brad Roller Set - w/style

Back of Brad's Head - see the movement? lol

Wow!  its awful isn’t it? lol.  It’ll get better I swear it!    Roller sets can be done so many different ways, depending on the look you want.  For our state board exam, we will have to do a brick lay which means the rollers are staggered…this isn’t always easy as the head is what?  ROUND!  That’s right! lol.  But, once you get the hang of it, it goes pretty smoothly.

Our next section was finger waves – that post is coming right up behind this one cause I’m on a roll, but this post is getting a little too long… oh, and there are more pictures too!  YAY!

Be sure to leave me a comment and tell me how fabulous Brad’s hair is lol…  Or you can sign up on the right to subscribe to the blog and get updates when I post new blogs (i know i’ve been slacking !)

2 responses to “Rolling Along

  1. wow, i cant tell you how many time’s i’ve had to do this years back for my grandmother & later wigs @ the shop…i actually had to do an elvis for i dont know what reason…& i was the only one there who could do it…at the funshop…how frightening is that???

  2. lol – that is kind of scary! I don’t wish that hair on anyone!

Leave a Reply

