Just Because There Are Waves, Doesn’t Mean We’re At The Ocean.

Well, after a week of roller sets, we moved on to pin curls, however, My mannekin was possessed and decided to mat up on me so bad during a shampoo that I spent almost a whole class period trying to get it out of her hair!  Poor Kimmie!  But, all is not lost because we moved on to finger waves.  Since Kimmie was being mean and not wanting to cooperate, I pulled out Bradley again – haha – he is well on his way to becoming a drag queen!  Fingerwaves were taught to us by four different people and everyone has their own “trick” to it… luckily, we can choose whatever is easiest for us 🙂

Quite frankly, until you “get it” finger waves SUCK.  I will tell you to do LOTS of finger exercises…lol.  Your fingers are now your most important tool, so they need to exercise more than the rest of us really think.  With finger waves, you slide, pinch, comb, smooth and lock.  When done correctly finger waves are beautiful, classic, stylish and fun – think Renee Zelweger in Chicago.  when in correctly done – its a hot mess!

Read the fine print...

Fingerwaves can be as dramatic as you want them to be – the deeper the ridges, the deeper the style – the softer the ridges, the softer the style…

Here are our takes on it:

Brad's finger wave

Look at those ridges!

Newbies tearing it up! They are so awesome!

She's so proud of her work!

Overall, I’d say we did an ok job!  The next day we moved on to wraps.  And, since I had tortured Brad relentlessly for the last few days, i decided to give Kimmie another shot…Now, there were only 4 of us in class because we had absolutely HORRIBLE weather – a whole 3 inches of snow!  To some of you that’s not much, but here in Louisiana you’d thing the world was ending!

So I did what anyone would do – I made a snowman.  I had to put him in the freezer so he wouldn’t die.

Louisiana Snow Man

Then I went back inside and we began our wraps –

Roller Wrap Front

this is called a “roller wrap” because it has four rollers on top, and the rest of the hair is wrapped around the head.  You section off the four sections for the rollers first – then wrap the hair – then roll the rollers.  pretty awesome and super easy.  This gives the hair lots of body when the hair is unwrapped and styled.

Roller Wrap Top

Roller Wrap Back

Easy Peasy Lemon Squeezy!  We tested out on our classic hairstyling and trichology B and I have to say I believe most of us passed.  I was kind of upset because I realized i got one of my questions wrong as soon as i handed over my test, but alas, it was too late…lol.  I still made A’s on both of my tests and my practical – GO ME!  I’m rocking out with a 96 or a 98 grade average and a 99.96 attendance average….whooo hooo Master Stylist is going to be MINE!

Now we’re into perms and relaxers – actually, we’re over 1/2 way through with it.  I’m trying to get more photos – we test out on Saturday, so I’ll try to have it up by then.  🙂  so excited!  5 OR 6 more weeks til i get to get out on the performance floor and enter rehearsal!  whooo hooooo.  Skin and Nails and Chemistry are the only sections we have left in work shop!  YAY!

2 responses to “Just Because There Are Waves, Doesn’t Mean We’re At The Ocean.

  1. Hey, I was wondering if Regency teaches about how to do hair extensions?

  2. yes, but not during workshop. That comes later in Rehearsal / performance floor.

    We touch briefly on it during workshop when we go over braiding & wigs, which is part of hair styling… but we haven’t gone in-depth yet. 😉

Leave a Reply

