Kind Of In Limbo…

So yesterday I told you all that I was super exited to get to school and meet our new instructor at Regency Beauty Institute – well guess what?  I’m still super excited to meet our new instructor because I haven’t met her yet! LOL.  What that means is that we don’t officially have a new instructor for our class yet.

Ms. Vera, our campus manager, did an excellent job filling in as our instructor last night.  We reviewed what we have learned so far in Hair Color and then, she dropped the bomb & gave us more worksheets – only these worksheets were on the “Gold Book” as we call it (the Louisiana Laws for Cosmetology, Manicurists, and Estheticians).  Lucky for me I’m used to reading law books since I’m a full time legal assistant!!

We were given our Gold Book at our student orientation, but I guarantee that no one has cracked that open until she gave us those worksheets!  haha.  She said we could do them for homework and bring them back tonight, then use the rest of the evening to do some practicals.  The other girls put their stuff up and proceeded to do pedicures, waxing, an a couple of shampoos I believe.

I, being the huge nerd that I am (also being the one who has the LEAST amount of time for homework), stayed in the classroom to work on my worksheets.  Now, as I said previously, I’ve very fortunate to know how to read the law books and how to look for things – but seriously – this can’t be ALL of the book.  argh.  I have two questions that I was unable to find answers for and I read those pages from cover to cover!!!!  I’ll be glad when we go over it tonight because it is really bugging me.

Anywho, i spent about an hour doing those worksheets after our hour of review, so that left me with 2 hours for practicals.  I decided to get as many practical points as I could in those two hours, so I grab my Kimmie 2 mannekin and my Ms. Michelle Manniken (who we used for the finger waves and still had a ton of mucilage in her hair that had hardened…lol) and decided to do a double shampoo/condition and then thermal style both.

I showed Ms. Vera my doll heads and told her I was going to shampoo / condition / style and then proceeded to the floor.

After their hair was super clean and soft, I took them back to the room.  I used a blow dryer to dry Kimmie 2 and a flat iron to curl her hair under and swoop her bangs.  Then I used just a blow dryer and a paddle brush to straighten Ms. Michelle’s pretty thick hair.  WOW, that was rough!  She has a LOT of hair and it is SUPER curly.

so yay me for getting 4 shampoo credits (we shampoo each head twice) and 2 “scalp/hair treatment” credits (the conditioner) and 2 “hairstyling” credits for the thermal styling AND pretty much finishing my homework- all in one night!

It kind of frustrated me that no one else even tried to do their worksheets though – but, my success is NOT dependent on anyone else in that class and their success is not dependent on me, so I can’t worry about it too much.  I do know that I will be peeved if they come back to class tonight without even having tried to do their work and expect me to give them answers.  I’ll show them the page that the answer is on, only because I feel i have a slight advantage, but I won’t just give them the answers.

I can’t wait to see if we have an instructor tonight, but if we don’t, I sure don’t mind racking up some more practical credits!  Though, it would be nice if they would work with us on our color application a bit.  I just feel like everyone thinks I’m a “stick in the mud” since I want to work and not play around because we don’t have an instructor.  I am just of the opinion that I am paying money to learn.  Sure its fun to goof off sometimes, but I feel there are other thing I could be doing with my time, like spending it with my kid or my hubby that are both being neglected while I’m gone, if we aren’t going to do something constructive.

am i wrong for that?

Our school is a newer campus so they are still working out the kinks and I know good instructors are hard to find, so I’m being patient.  I’m just eager to learn and motivated to be the best…and I’m impatient.  lol.

Leave a Reply

