Take a Look Around (Shreveport Campus Tour)

Ok, so I know I told you all I was going to review the kit on Sunday – but I had forgotten completely that I was hosting a cookie exchange that day!  However, I did remember to take lots of pictures of our campus on Saturday, So i’m going to give you a virtual tour instead:)  AND, you’ll kind of get to see the kit briefly!  All is not lost.

Saturday was a LONG day – we were there from 8:30 to 5, we got to meet the “day walkers” (j/k they were the full-time students who are currently on Saturday rotation – and they are AWESOME and FRIENDLY and HELPFUL – )

I did my first “layered” cut on Ms. Kim – whoo hooo!  She’s so pretty.  If there is anything I’m taking away from this class it is to TAKE MY TIME and don’t rush through it.  I see some of the other students who want to get done just for the sake of being done, but I take my sweet time because I want to make sure I’m cutting properly – trust me, i’m pretty sure my clients will rather it be done correctly over quickly, not saying i’m taking two hours to cut long layers or anything…lol

SO!  On to the tour o f my Regency Beauty Institute Shreveport Campus – oh, and all of these are taken with my iPhone, so pardon the quality 🙂

Entryway –  this is the first thing you see when you walk in to Regency Beauty Institute, be it to make an appointment, or come in to sign up for classes, or on your way down the hall to go to class.  This is where the POS (Point-of-Sale) computers are and where all appointment, follow-up appointments, and retail sales are made.

To the right of the entryway is our product display.  As you can see, we are a Redken retailer (YES!  LOVE THEM) and an O-P-I Nail Product retailer – You get a free bottle of polish with a mani or pedi – which is pretty awesome too!

If you were to take an immediate right past the Retail section, you’d be walking in to the Salon area.   We have 5 or 6 rows of salon chairs / mirrors/ stations – whatever you wish to call them – for us to provide hair services.

To your left you’d see our dispensary – this is where all the chemicals and towels are kept.

At the beginning of your hair service, you will likely be taken to our shampoo area.  Here you will see our Shampoo Bowls/Chairs and our Dryers – so neat and pretty!

And of course – our Shampoo/Conditioner Bar where we stylist students select our shampoo & conditioner.

We also have a facial room, but there was a client in there so I couldn’t snap photos there because I didn’t want to disturb them – but its pretty awesome.

Our mani/pedi area was also occupied – but there are three or four mani/pedi chairs in that area that are uber comfy.

Now, if you were coming to the back of the building for class, right past the reception area you would pass my favorite spot – the Coffee area!  It is on the right.  You’ll notice that we make/serve Community Coffee – which is produced right here in Louisiana, and happens to be one of my favorites!

Directly at the end of the first hall is the Kit Display – (see, I told you you’d kind of get to see the kit).  Except for the bottom row – those are prizes reserved for Student Master Designers (part of the STAR Program).

To the right and left are classrooms (which I didn’t take photos of) and down the other hall are our lockers.  So Shiny!  And roomy!!!

At the end of the hall on the left is our break room 🙂  YAY Snack Machines!

this concludes our tour of the Shreveport Campus.  I’ll try and remember to update this post with photos of the mani/pedi stations & the facial/waxing room – I’ll take those photos tonight 🙂

Isn’t it Pretty?!?

8 responses to “Take a Look Around (Shreveport Campus Tour)

  1. Your Layered cut looks AMAZING, keep up the great work!

    Jenna K
    Admissions Director~
    opening all new 2010 campuses

  2. Keep updating! Love to hear how your doing. I start in a few weeks. 🙂

    • I know you’re getting excited! I suggest shopping to pass the time…lol. Find LOTS of Grey, Black & White colored/patterned tops – you’ll get tired of having only 10-12 to choose from after the first two weeks…lol.

  3. HEY BRE! I’m currently a Regency student too. Looks like you just started, and it’s odd that i just happened to cross your site doing a salon project for school. I’ll be done in March 2010, my advice would be to ask lots of questions because they’ll teach you the basics unless you ask for more advance information. Have fun with Regency while it last..and DON’T DROP OUT! The ten months will come by faster than you think.

    • I would NEVER even dream of dropping out! I’m LOVING it 😉 I know its not perfect, but I’m happy and the other student are great! I am also a firm believer in the fact that the only stupid question is the one you don’t ask!! My instructor picks on me (in a loving way) because I always have all the answers and tend to ask redundant questions when I see another classmate isn’t quite “getting” it…lol

      I should be done early next year! Since I’m going part-time, it takes 12-14 months instead of the 10 that full timers take.

  4. I recently applied for Regency and got accepted (starting in June 2010) and I was thinking it was fake and first because I had not found anything about it anywhere else! Can you tell me what its like?

    • You will LOVE it! It is absolutely amazing!!! I’m behind on writing my updates b/c I’ve been SO busy at work, but I promise to have two new posts up by this Sunday – WITH pictures! 🙂 The school is so modern & the instructors are the cream of the crop!

Leave a Reply

