Dressed to the Nines

From the Regency Beauty Institute Student Handbook:

“…Students must come to school dressed in a professional manner…”

the following must be worn at all times during school hours:

  • Solid black Apron *
  • Solid Black trousers or dress pants, knee length or longer skirts, or black dress;
  • Solid, print, or patterned shirts or sweaters in white, black or grey
  • Solid black shoes, dress boots, or open backed shoes

What that boils down to is that Regency Beauty Institute has a pretty awesome dress code :

Black closed toe shoes – Black pants – Black, Grey or White on top.

Jewelry, scarves, headbands, and other accessories can be in any color.

sounds easy enough right?  well, i thought so too – BUT,  now that i’m limited i’m finding all kinds of awesome COLORED tops to wear…lol. but that’s another story.  I also keep finding really freakin cute sleeveless shirts – which are prohibited – but again, that’s another story.

I have a lot of black  and white shirts – a LOT – so my husband didn’t understand the need for me to have more…HA!  Let’s just say he’s not a fashionista.  He also doesn’t understand the fact that i’m going to be working with chemicals…which is why i prefer not to wear white.

Plus, i want to look at leas SEMI professional – so that requires an upgrade (at least a little bit) to the wardrobe i currently have.

I didn’t want to spend a ton of money, after all – it is nearly christmas and i am on a tight budget – so i headed to Burlington Coat Factory where i scored three grey sweaters, two black sweaters, and two black pairs of comfy dress slacks for about $40.00 – YAY ME.

now shoes – the only black shoes i have are peep toe pumps, which are NOT closed toe, no matter how you squint your eyes, and a pair of black sneakers that i wore during the haunt, and one pair of black boots.

looks like those boots will be getting a starring role in my wardrobe from now on.  Luckily  – i like them, so its all good.  I’m heading out with V., one of my girlfriends, for some shoe shopping later…hopefully i’ll score a good deal on some flats or something.

* this is the only thing that saddens me b/c i have a pretty awesome pink bowed – skull & crossbone print apron that i want to wear realllly bad.

Now, once I make Student Designer, and then Master Designer, I’ll be allowed to wear whatever professional dress i want – as long as i have my name tag on – this makes me happy too.

that’s enough for today.  I’ll be back later to talk some more about the rules of the school

7 responses to “Dressed to the Nines

  1. I discovered your site when I was looking for something unrelated, but this post showed up at the top of Bing your blog must be amazingly popular! Continue the awesome job!

  2. Stephanie White

    so does it mean we can wear any apron too?? I have that sweet zebra print apron they have at Armstrong……..let me know!!

  3. Where did you find this apron??

  4. so the tops can have a nice and cute design as long as the colors are white, black, or grey?

  5. Pingback: Regency Beauty Institute Dress Code | nursesbeauty.com

Leave a Reply

